Vivian A. Fonseca, MD, FRCP

Vivian A. Fonseca, MD, FRCP

Assistant Dean for Clinical Research
Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, Louisiana
Professor of Medicine
Tullis–Tulane Alumni Chair in Diabetes
Chief of the Section of Endocrinology
Board of Directors of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE)
Board of Trustees of the American College of Endocrinology

He is a past President for Science and Medicine of the American Diabetes Association (2012), and has held a leadership role and served on various committees in several other organizations including the American Diabetes Association, the American College of Endocrinology and the American Board of Internal Medicine.

He is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Diabetes and its Complications. He was Editor-in-Chief of Diabetes Care from 2007-2011, having formerly been Associate Editor. He was, until 2006, Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the Metabolic Syndrome and Related Disorders. He served on the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism (2003-2006), and is an ad-hoc reviewer for several other journals, including the New England Journal of MedicineLancetJAMADiabetes, etc.

Dr. Fonseca is a fellow of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, the Royal College of Physicians (London), and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Fonseca has served on and been chairman of the Clinical Practice Committee of the American Diabetes Association, the ADA Disaster Task Force, the ADA Strategic Planning Committee and the joint ADA/ACC “Make the Link” Program. He has played a significant role in developing guidelines for treating diabetes (ADA and AACE), managing chronic disease and clinical trials after a natural disaster and in drawing attention to the global epidemic of diabetes, particularly in Asia.

The American Diabetes Association awarded him the ADA Banting Medal for Leadership and Service and the Southern Medical Association awarded him the Seale–Harris Award. He has received several teaching awards and was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and has been listed among the Best Doctors in the United States, Louisiana and Arkansas.